Strauss, Gershwin & Carmen

Saturday 28 October, 8.00pm

Richard Bonynge Concert Hall, Joan Sutherland Performing Arts Centre, Penrith


Paul Terracini - conductor
Simon Tedeschi - piano

Strauss II - Die Fledermaus Overture
Gershwin - Piano Concerto in F
Alex Turley - New Work: Winner of PSO Young Composer Award
Bizet - Excerpts from Carmen Suites

Buy tickets online here...

All PSO subscriptions and tickets can be booked online or through the Box Office at The Joan:

Phone: 02 4723 7600
Box Office: 597 High Street, Penrith
Hours: Monday to Friday, 9.00am to 4.30pm
The box office accepts cash, cheque or credit card.

A transaction fee of $4.00 (per booking, not per ticket) will be added to all bookings other than cash sales at the box office.

Ticket prices

Adult $60
Concession $52
Child $28
Family $154
Group 10+ $45 each

The ever-popular Overture to Die Fledermaus by Johann Strauss II begins a festive evening of orchestral music.

One of Australia’s most loved pianists, Simon Tedeschi, appears with PSO as soloist in George Gershwin’s glittering Piano Concerto in F. Commissioned immediately after Rhapsody in Blue by Walter Damrosch, this work explores more traditional concerto forms than Rhapsody in Blue.

A new work by Alex Turley, winner of PSO’s Young Composer Award will be premiered at this concert.

Completing the program are selections from the two CarmenSuites, drawn from one of the most performed operas in the repertoire, Bizet’s Carmen.